• All Things Go
  • Posts
  • Dear Besties 💌 The Goddess, Challengers Lust + The Secret Of Us

Dear Besties 💌 The Goddess, Challengers Lust + The Secret Of Us

new

a discovery playlist featuring my recent top 10 new music releases

  1. laufey- bewitched: goddess edition: these 4 new songs are a continuation of the bewitched story and feels more raw, mature, and human than the original album. i think my favorite of the four is the deluxe title track, goddess, which is about womanhood and the pressure to be perfect.

  2. boyish- lua: this cover is everything to me! lua is one of the most beautiful songs, and boyish definitely did it justice.

  3. girl in red- girlfriend is better: the latest edition to A24’s talking heads tribute album which is out may 17. the vinyl is available now for pre-order!

BOTW: ANNIE DIRUSSO

Annie DiRusso is a Nashville based indie-rock artist born in NYC, who wears the influence of both of these cities on her sleeve. Annie has built a hardcore fan base through her unique sound, and along with playing the festival in September, she’s built her following on tour via multiple support slots (HAIM, Beabadoobee, Samia) and two headline tours, where she sold out multiple dates. Annie is currently working on her first ever full length project! Listen to her hit song Coming Soon that perfectly captures the anxiety of being a college senior plus check out a sneak pick of her song Legs on tik tok now!

 What does life look like for you right now?

 Ins and outs for this month? 👑📅🫶

Ins: tulsi tea, Calebs, Summer, Boats, Soup, The Y, Crushing, Green, Yapping, Long roots, Homer the pig, Sauna, B12, Legs, Musing, Mewsing

 Outs: Having a cold, Napping, Texting, Not playing shows, Broken gear

What’s your favorite hobby right now? What’s a hobby you want to get into this year?🛹🧘‍♀️📷

I been loving running and walking and drumming and dancing. I want to go on more informational tours at museums and factories and stuff while I’m on tour this year. 

Fashion pieces you’re interested in lately? 👜👡🧥

I am interested in finding a new pair of shoes to replace the sneakers I have been wearing for the last 5 years !! On the lookout.

Earphones as a hair tie and Purses with tchotchke’s keychains hanging off them

Piece of media that’s influenced you 🎼🖼️🎬

While working on writing the album that I just finished recording, I tried to incorporate reading into my day most days and I was really enjoying poetry for the first time in my life. “Crush” by Richard Siken and the complete works from Louis Glück definitely inspired the way I wrote this album. 

Any interesting/silly/fun festival anecdotes? 🎆🤪🙈

The tour I just wrapped was so fun, we did a coheadline with comedian Caleb Hearon. I became obsessed with having a Flying V guitar for this tour and was able to get one loaned to me. The first show was in New York and it was one of my favorite shows I’ve played. However, right before the last song the Flying V fell off my body and hit the floor …. When I looked down the guitar had broken into pieces. It was so so so crazy, I was in disbelief. There is a really funny video of the crowd collectively gasping when I pick up the pieces.

P.s. TY Gibson for being chill 

What are you listening to right now? 🎧📻💿

A lot of classic country music and popppp music.  Also, Jeff Rosenstock, Kimya Dawson, Squirrel Flower, Al Menne, Daffo, Porches, Hovvdy, Adrienne Lenker, Kero Kero Bonito

Describe your recent work by a color/season/mood 🍂🌨️🌼

Party July

Is there an artist you’ve seen live that blew you away?🪕🎫🎤

Sooo many. I cry at almost every concert I go to. Most recently I saw blonde redhead and they were so awesome.

What song/lyric are you most proud of? 📓🪞💌

Hmmm this changes all the time but recently I’ve been really proud of “Nine Months.” I’m also really proud of all the new music that I’ve written over the last few months. 

What’s on you Letterboxd? (Top 4 favorite films) 🎞️⭐️🎥

  • Get Smart (all timer)

  • Bottoms (recent movie I loved)

  • She’s the Man (childhood fave)

  • School of rock

What’s a lyric you think about often? 📖🏹💬

“May all your favorite bands stay together” - Dawes

“Close your eyes I’ll be here in the morning” - Townes Van Zandt

“Leaning on a windowsill, you could write me someday and I bet you will”- Adrienne Lenker

“I’m a fool to do your dirty work” - Steely Dan

“How you drift buying groceries “ -lorde

“ I’ve been one poor correspondent, I’ve been too too hard to find” - America

“I don’t think I could stand to be where you don’t see me” - Mitski

“The more that you say the less I know” - Taylor swift

“Step into whatever you want to and let your spirit bloom”

“Situations get fucked up” Elliot smith

“Choosing pain when it's clean Learning how to be angry But not be mean I'm on your team” - babehoven

What’s your dream collab? ☁️🔮🫧

Sabrina Carpenter, Ruston Kelly, Samia, Margaret Glaspy, Lana Del Rey, Joan Baez, Jeff Rosenstock

new movies and tv shows on my radar right now

  • zendaya’s newest movie, challengers, is currently in theater with super high ratings (97% on rotten tomatoes). read more about why people are loving it in this variety article! 

  • sue bird and megan rapinoe’s production banner, a touch more, is adapting my favorite sapphic rom com book cleat cute into a tv series and i am so stoked

  • watch this new clip from season 3 of heartstopper with a guest appearance from johnathan bailey!

a compilation of my favorite moments on social media recently

  1. hozier became the first irish artist to top billboard hot 100 since sinead o’connor, and here’s what he has to say about it

  2. this video of renee rapp listening to chappell roan at coachella proves renee has got taste (we already knew)

  3. gracie abrams announced her new album, the secrets of us, which will be out june 21!

  4. billie eilish talks about her new album, reintroducing herself, and her sexuality in this rolling stone article

  5. this is why espresso by sabrina carpenter is the song of the summer

  6. you wouldn’t last an hour in the asylum where they raised me… (or this one…) (or this one)

  7. the taylor swift ttpd tweets are still going strong, even monica lewinsky got in on it

  8. i’m still so obsessed with lana del rey bringing out camila cabello at week 2 coachella

  9. mitski just came out with a music video for her song star, which you can watch and read about in this pitchfork article

  10. matty healy starred in probably the funniest photobomb of all time

things that i’ve been super into lately that i need to share with you guys