Dear Besties 💌 Taking Risks At The Met Gala

a discovery playlist featuring my recent top 10 new music releases

  1. Gracie Abrams- Risk: Gracie is soo back with this new single (which was produced by Aaron Dessner)! the music video, directed by her best friend Audrey Hobert, is also just shot so well and Gracie’s facial expressions throughout the video are just mesmerizing. I cannot wait for her album.

  2. Allison Ponthier- Breaking the Fourth Wall [ep]: our very own BOTW released an ep last Friday! I think my favorite is Lie Detector (I’m a sucker for a gay love song). See more on what she has to say about this song and ep in the interview below…

  3. Holly Humberstone, Medium Build- Cocoon: love seeing two of our 2024 All Things Go artist collaborating, and even better when the song is just GOOD

BOTW: ALLISON PONTHIER

Born from the beautifully strange imagination of a wide-eyed misfit raised in the Dallas outskirts, Allison Ponthier’s songwriting hints at her country roots through her heart-on-sleeve storytelling and crystalline vocal work. Her lyrics whimsically portray the lucid confessions of a shy teen coming to terms with her queer sexuality in a Texas suburb much like football-obsessed town of Friday Night Lights, further heightened to create a world inspired by the Camp warped eccentricities of Henry Selick, Vincent Price, and Elvira.

 What does life look like for you right now?

 Ins and outs for this month? 👑📅🫶

In: bats, YouTube karaoke, Lesbian Visibility Month, trying new arts and crafts, talking to yourself

Outs: being indirect, uncomfy shoes, being aloof to seem mysterious

What’s your favorite hobby right now? What’s a hobby you want to get into this year?🛹🧘‍♀️📷

Escape rooms. I love a theme and I love puzzles. I do like 2-3 virtual escape rooms a week!!!

Fashion pieces you’re interested in lately? 👜👡🧥

Ok, so I love ties but I am horrible at tying them. I found out they make fake pre-tied ties that have a zipper in the back (for little boys probably lol) and I have like 5 or 6 of them now in every color. You’ll never catch me with a badly tied necktie now!!!

Piece of media that’s influenced you 🎼🖼️🎬

I'm extremely influenced by sci-fi and horror of the 60s-90s, like Barbarella, Elvira, and Death Becomes Her. But the biggest influence of my creative life is The Wizard of Oz. I watched it every day growing up, and really loved the idea of a normal girl in a fantasy world.

Any interesting/silly/fun recent tour anecdotes? 🎆🤪🙈

I was wearing a Slipknot shirt when we stopped at a gas station on tour and the cashier asked me what my favorite Slipknot song was. When I asked her the same, the most adorable and sweet young lady said her favorite song is “People = Shit.” Love her. 

What are you listening to right now? 🎧📻💿

I may make alt pop/singer songwriter music, but I’m obsessed with blasting club bangers in my earbuds on a quiet day at the park. I don’t really go out that much, but for some reason listening to Charlie XCX, Addison Rae and Von by myself on a beautiful day has been really doing it for me.

Describe your recent work by a color/season/mood 🍂🌨️🌼

Breaking The Fourth Wall is a singer-songwriter Twilight Zone.

Is there an artist you’ve seen live that blew you away?🪕🎫🎤

I was absolutely blown away by Rosalía and Yves Tumor at Coachella 2023 and most recently the Last Dinner Party. Those shows changed the chemistry of my brain.

What song/lyric are you most proud of? 📓🪞💌

Impossible to choose, but recently “Lie Detector” was my first real love song. As a gay woman, I’m glad I could put something like that into the world for others who relate. 

“If I never let my guard down, then I never have to find out… if to be seen is to be loved.”

What’s on you Letterboxd? (Top 4 favorite films) 🎞️⭐️🎥

This is the hardest question, but here are the most iconic TO ME. The Wizard of Oz, Coraline, Midsommar, Barbarella.

What’s a lyric you think about often? 📖🏹💬

I think about Fiona Apple singing “I just wanna feel everything” over and over again in “Every Single Night” constantly.

What’s your dream collab? ☁️🔮🫧

I would love to collab with Hayley Williams or Ethel Cain. I cannot wait to see Ethel at All Things Go. Notice me, icon.

new movies and tv shows on my radar right now

  • one movie that i can’t believe is actually on my radar is the idea of you. so i know this movie was based off of a harry style fanfic every review i’ve seen of it is actually really good?! i guess there’s nothing anne hathaway can’t do.

  • kristen stewart is to be in a new vampire thriller movie with oscar iscaac set in LA in the 80’s. after watching love lies bleeding, i will watch any film stewart is in no matter the plot, but , this one sounds like a movie plot from my dreams so I’m pretty stoked.

  • hacks season 3 premiered and we got content of MUNA at the premiere party and a king princess cover of “dirty work” for the show

Subscribe to Besties All Access to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Besties All Access to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In.

A subscription gets you:

  • • Festival Benefits