• All Things Go
  • Posts
  • Dear Besties 💌 Living On The Aftertaste 😛

Dear Besties 💌 Living On The Aftertaste 😛

FREE EDITION ☁️ Katie Gavin's solo single, Ethel Cain's style, Role Model's new album and much more!

 

a discovery playlist featuring my recent top 10 new music releases

  1. Katie Gavin- Aftertaste: a new solo single by Katie from MUNA?! I’ve been so stoked for this and I absolutely love the song. Gonna put it on all my summer lists asap

  2. Role Model- So Far So Gone (feat. Lizzy Mcalpine): ok so I loved this album, but this song is definitely a favorite. I think their voices pair so well

  3. Alice Phoebe Lou- The World Above: If you haven’t listened to Alice before, this is your sign to start. Her music is so dreamy and wonderful AND she’s going to be opening for Clairo on the Charm tour which I think is SUCH a perfect fit.

all the biggest things that happened online this week

  1. Clairo’s mouth trumpet on the Fallon Tonight show?! iconic queen.

  2. Charli XCX tweets that “kamala IS brat” making her instant front runner for Harris’s VP

  3. Katie Gavin announces solo album - “What A Relief”

  4. Besties Street Interviews w/ Lily & Willa - what’s your dream queer artist collab?

  5. Besties Street Interviews w/ Lily & Willa - who is your dream bestie to go out with for the night?

☁️ Members Only Content ☁️

things that i’ve been super into lately that i need to share with you guys

  • This Vogue interview details the different between Ethel Cain and Hayden Anhedonia in terms of their fashion

☁️ Members Only Content ☁️

new movies and tv shows on my radar right now

  1. Daisy Edgar Jones looks absolutely stunning at the premiere for Twisters (and in every single promo photo as well)

  2. Ok maybe I’m a bit late on this one but I just found out that there’s talk of a Devil Wears Prada 2 and Anne Hathaway, Emily Blunt, Meryl Streep, and Stanley Tucci might all return?!

☁️ Members Only Content ☁️

BOTW June Henry

June Henry is a twenty-year-old freak folk singer-songwriter from Lawrence, Kansas. Known best for her minute-long voice memo "void-adjacent", she has released a concerning number of bedroom recordings documenting her life as a limerence-ridden, lycanthropy-obsessed boygirl since 2019. Henry’s recent work includes album “podium”, released June 2024.

 What does life look like for you right now?

I just got back from a super sweet tour! I’m moving at the end of the month so I'm doing a combination of unpacking from tour and packing for my move. 

 Ins and outs for this month? 👑📅🫶

Ins:

  • Princess Diaries 2: A Royal Engagement

  • Gas station boiled eggs

  • Tails clipped onto cargo shorts

  • Arugula 

  • Gross girls 

OUTS:

  • Hinge

  • Click tracks

  • Shaving

  • Self-described “golden retriever” boys

  • Overuse of truffle mushrooms 

What’s your favorite hobby right now? What’s a hobby you want to get into this year?🛹🧘‍♀️📷

I’ve recently gotten back into Webkinz. So much to do in the Webkinz world… I’m in love with superintendent Ms Cowoline. She’s so beautiful. 

I’m moving into a house with my friends and really hope to get back into cooking. Last year I made these deviled eggs that were inspired by the cover of Letting Off The Happiness by Bright Eyes. Used pickled beet brine to make the filling pink, they were so good.

Fashion pieces you’re interested in lately? 👜👡🧥

My dear friend Woof (@f4gdyke on instagram) recently made me an incredible custom chainmail top. I’m planning on commissioning zir for a headpiece of some sort soon. Ideally, I want to assemble a full suit of armor. I just bought a nice fishing vest from the bass pro pyramid and I'm gonna put some spikes on it which will be a solid start. I also just got my paws on a couple of Sixth Dimension pieces that I love. My current aesthetic is largely informed by the Astro Knights Island from Poptropica. I love medieval aesthetics mixed with retro-futurism.

Piece of media that’s influenced you 🎼🖼️🎬

Dork Diaries by Rachel Renée Russell has been a lifelong influence. Nikki Maxwell is deranged in a way that is very similar to me. Love her to death.

Any interesting/silly/fun recent tour anecdotes? 🎆🤪🙈

I’ve recently started selling dog leashes at my merch table. They say “June Henry Dog Academy” on them. I love watching people walk up to the table and act sheepish and embarrassed about buying one as if I’m not the freak who custom ordered 200 leashes with my name on them. June Henry shows are a safe space to be a weird critter. I always get so excited when people come to shows with tails and pup hoods. We had some people pull up in fursuits in Little Rock. Sometimes people bark instead of clapping.

What are you listening to right now? 🎧📻💿

Cold Visions by Bladee, Take It Easy, Love Nothing by Bright Eyes, my own voice memos, Slow Buzz by remember sports, Exile in Guyville by Liz Phair

Describe your recent work by a color/season/mood 🍂🌨️🌼

I think the color green describes a lot of my work right now. My latest album Podium has a little bit of sporty theming. 

Is there an artist you’ve seen live that blew you away?🪕🎫🎤

I’ve seen my tourmate Manalia (artist name I’ve Never Been Here Before) perform live more than any other artist and every performance still moves me so much. In Seattle, she jumped off of this wall after lowering her microphone to the ground by its cord. In Eugene, Oregon, she punched a guy in the chest when he was getting too rowdy in the pit. Just last night in my hometown Lawrence, Kansas, she thrashed and rolled around on the floor in a way that if I attempted would either lead to my own strangulation or the microphone being unplugged. She finds ways to utilize the unique spaces we perform in and plays off of audience energy in a way that really inspires me.

What song/lyric are you most proud of? 📓🪞💌

My song Getting Tested is one of my favorite songs I’ve written recently. I had a lot of fun with the rhymes and rhythm of the lyrics.

  What you showed n taught me 

Breathed like oxygen, you rot me

Back to square one, and then back some

Four months away, I’m not losing weight anymore

My friends say I’ve got my life back, do I want you or my life more?

What’s on you Letterboxd? (Top 4 favorite films) 🎞️⭐️🎥

  1. Princess Diaries 2: A Royal Engagement

  2. I Saw The TV Glow

  3. Bottoms

  4. Ghost World

What’s a lyric you think about often? 📖🏹💬

The first time I played in Seattle, an artist called Orchard Ladder opened. They played a song called Lurchers that has the line “Lurching Towards Utopia”. When I heard it I knew immediately that I was going to get it tattooed. The song still hasn’t been released but I do have that line on my collarbone now. I talked to Park, the writer, about what the song means to them and realized that I connected with it even more than I initially thought I did. Whenever I’m feeling hopeless about things it’s a phrase that returns to my brain. To lurch is such an ungraceful way of moving, but any movement towards a better life for everyone I love is worthwhile. 

What’s your dream collab? ☁️🔮🫧

I would love to be on a track with my pal Gigi Perez, her recent releases have been absurdly beautiful and I adore what she’s doing with her production. My absolute biggest dream would be to collaborate with Ecco2k. I love his work so much, especially PXE, his vocals are angelic.