Dear Besties 💌 Good Luck, Babe!

a discovery playlist featuring my recent top 10 new music releases

  1. lizzy mcalpine - older [album]: i’ve been anxiously awaiting this album for so long and it’s just as good as i imagined. lizzy’s songwriting is just so beautiful and so raw. upon the first few listens i’m really loving drunk, running and vortex.

  2. chappell roan - good luck, babe!: a killer bop as always! i ate up all the videos of her performing this song on tour and i’m pumped to be able to add it to all my playlists now.

  3. conan gray - found heaven [album]: what a switch-up from his original sound! this is an 80s revival album reminicent of icons like elton john and freddie mercury

BOTW: ELIZA MCLAMB

Eliza McLamb is a writer, musician and host of an amazing pop culture podcast called Binchtopia. A believer in ghosts, a non-believer in capitalism, a big girl in leather boots, and a child of the North Carolina woodlands, Eliza writes with candor, if not always with brevity.

 What does life look like for you right now?

Life right now is on the road for my first headlining tour. Here’s a photo of some of my band in the van — Addy holding a bottle of whiskey while balancing a plate of tacos we scored from the venue really encapsulates the vibe these days.

 Ins and outs for this month? 👑📅🫶

IN: kindle paperwhite, Oxford, Mississippi, a small journal, dutch (the card game my friends and I made up but I think maybe it’s a regional hit in certain places and should be everywhere), earplugs

OUT: restrictive clothing, scrolling, a big journal, Greg Abbott, asking me if I’m playing the show and I say yes and they say who are you opening for and I say i’m the headliner and they say oh but like who’s the frontperson

What’s your favorite hobby right now? 🛹🧘‍♀️📷

Googling “Southern Gothic Literature Syllabi” and working my way through the texts

Fashion pieces you’re interested in lately? 👜👡🧥

Barrel jeans. I think they would look ridiculous on me but I see other women pull them off tremendously and it fills me with pride and awe

Piece of media that’s influenced you 🎼🖼️🎬

The Sound and The Fury by William Faulkner

Any interesting/silly/fun festival anecdotes? 🎆🤪🙈

A guy heckled me in a sexually inappropriate way at my show in Austin and the women in the crowd heckled him back until he left

What are you listening to right now? 🎧📻💿

The singles from the forthcoming Mei Semones EP. She played before me at the Paste showcase in Austin and I was totally floored by her and her band. Tegami is my favorite so far

Describe your recent work by a color/season/mood 🍂🌨️🌼

Jumping off a dock in the midst of a hot, oppressive summer, hitting the bottom of the lake and feeling the wet moss on your feet

Is there an artist you’ve seen live that blew you away?🪕🎫🎤

Top of mind right now is Mei Semones since I just saw her. The recorded stuff is amazing, but seeing the whole band live is really the full picture

What song/lyric are you most proud of? 📓🪞💌

Playing Modern Woman live has really made me appreciate how catchy that song is. I struggle with finding a compelling melody sometimes so that song right now is making me proud

What’s on you Letterboxd? (Top 4 favorite films) 🎞️⭐️🎥

Frances Ha, C’mon C’mon, Y Tu Mama Tambien, Suspiria (2018)

What’s a lyric you think about often? 📖🏹💬

Wishin’ that someone would film the way I’m looking at you right now / I wanna watch it back and then kill myself from Dionne by The Japanese House

What’s your dream collab? ☁️🔮🫧

I’d love to collaborate with Julia Jacklin in any sense. Whether she needs an opener or just someone to play harmonica quietly on a track buried 10 layers in the mix I’m her girl.

new movies and tv shows on my radar right now

  • the movie i’m most excited for right now is i saw the tv glow (out may 3rd!). the soundtrack is stacked with artists like Phoebe Bridgers, Sloppy Jane, Caroline Polachek, Snail Mail, King Woman, Florist, Jay Som, Sadurn and more. you can watch the trailer here!

  • the film based on john green’s novel Turtles All the Way Down comes out May 2nd on Max! i’m excited about this one, it’s one of my favorite books of his and takes place in the city i grew up in.

  • HBO gives pilot order to Rachel Sennott, in which “a codependent friend group reunites, navicating how the time apart, ambition, and new relationships have changed them”

a compilation of my favorite moments on social media recently

  1. amber bain (from japanese house) got engaged!!

  2. All Things Go announces the dates of the festival!

  3. watch kristen stewart and seth myers go day drinking

  4. on chappell roan giving a talk at harvard med 

  5. where boygenius tweets from

  6. bleachers/jack antonoff featured on the cover of the coup de main zine

  7. emily henry on the possibility of casting paul mescal & ayo edebiri in one of the upcoming film adaptations

  8. chapell roan x renne rapp

  9. these indie artist dopplegangers are blowing my mind

  10. maggie rogers covering tate mcrae’s greedy

things that i’ve been super into lately that i need to share with you guys